Magic Weight Loss Pill!

Magic Pill for weight loss = diet & exercise

Magic Pill for weight loss = diet & exercise

Three years ago, I was 52 years old and 30 lbs overweight!  My clothes were getting tighter and I was sick of hiding my big belly and ‘love handles’.  My husband is 5 years older than I am and he needed to lose 60 lbs!  It got scary when another one of our friends was recovering from a heart attack.  I thought somethin’s gotta give.

There are two sides to the “Magic Weight Loss Pill”!

We started Atkins on Father’s day, 2012.  It was important to use a plan that did not leave us hungry.  Since we are human, we wouldn’t be able to sustain a program that we had to deprive ourselves of food.  As time went on, we were able to expand what we could eat.  The cravings for white flour and sugar went away.  This still blows my mind because I have such a sweet tooth!  I’ve created new recipes  for our favorite foods like pizza and cookies!  Finding Stevia (natural!) to replace sugar was life changing for me!!  Three years later we have adjusted our diet to less processed food and more fruit (natural carbs!).  It really is a lifestyle!  If you go into it as a temporary thing, you are setting yourself up for failure!

The second side of the pill is exercise!  God made our bodies to move!  Sitting at a desk (and then the couch at night!) is the worst position for the body!!  Jim started walking around the neighborhood.  He challenged himself to run to ‘the next mailbox’, in-between walking.  The secret to exercise is to find something that you like.  There are lots of forms of exercise out there.  Try different things in your area, until you find something that gets you excited to exercise.  You just gotta move!

I have had knee pain for as long as I could remember.  At the Orthopedic Surgeons  I said, “I don’t know what is wrong with my knees, but I can’t stand it anymore”.  Tests showed that I had a torn meniscus.  The insurance would not allow surgery until I had gone through physical therapy.

The Physical Therapist explained to me that my ‘flat feet’ are actually ankles that roll in.  So all the tendons, ligaments & muscles that were supposed to be short were being stretched, and the ones that were supposed to be long were being shortened.  To undo this, each day I need to stretch all parts of my legs twice a day.   In two days, my knees stopped hurting and I was able to walk much further and longer!

I was under the assumption that I had to keep my HARD custom arch supports in my shoes for the rest of my life!   A running store employee explained to me that not all doctors agree that arch supports help at all!  (This is just my personal experience.)  I was shocked!  Once I replaced the original inner soles into my ‘good sneakers’, I was energized!  It was like walking on a cloud compared to those horrible rock hard ‘supports’.

While owning a ladies only gym, I was there all day and evening.  So I started running on the treadmill.  I went from one mile to 3.1 miles (5K).  I ran my first 5K race at age 53 yrs. old.  As of this writing I am training for my first 9.3 mile (15K) race in October!  I just increased my mileage 1/10 of a mile each week.

Now I run almost 20 miles a week, I’ve figured out that strengthening my feet, ankles and legs is the best ‘medicine’ for my ‘flat feet’!!

This is my journey to a healthy, strong body and mind.  Keep in mind this is just my personal journey and only what I have done.  But, I have learned so much and I want to share it with YOU!  Everyone can improve themselves with a healthy diet and exercise!!!!  Stay tuned for future articles on tricks and tips I’ve learned!!  I’m so excited to share my adventures with you!  And hopefully you will learn from my mistakes and not have to make them yourself!!!

Get rid of some of the junk food in your house and go out for a walk TODAY!!  You can do it!!!!

Donna

