Tsunami of Food

It’s fall and the food tsunami is coming!! First there’s pumpkin flavored EVERYTHING. Then comes Halloween with the mountains of candy, and then Thanksgiving and its Christmas cookies and parties for a whole month. And then New Year’s Eve, where we make a resolution to lose weight! Most people do this every year, but just the resolution part!

Here’s a thought, get ahead of it. Start to change your body NOW! Don’t you wanna look good in all the pictures that will be taken? Once I got off sugar and white flour I felt so much better, and lost my first 20 lbs. My ‘sweet tooth’ actually changed. I would have never believed that it could happen to ME! It used to be that, nothing was too sweet for me!!

My husband and I started off with Atkins. Dr. Atkins made so much sense to me! In “Dr. Atkins’ New Diet Revolution” on page 358 he said, “Why did heart disease become a major problem when it did, and why is it so much more common in certain countries? Those questions have significant nutritional implications. . . A famous British nutritionist, Dr. John Yudkin thought heart disease correlated with sugar consumption. It’s difficult to isolate information on food habits in different nations. Nearly all developed nations have high fat consumption and high sugar consumption. And nearly all underdeveloped nations have neither. Heart disease is high in the developed nations, but why?. . .

One explanation proposed by T. L. Cleave, MD. . . He noted that diabetes, hypertension, ulcers, colitis and heart disease, to name a few, were all virtually nonexistent in primitive cultures until refined carbohydrates were introduced. . . In Iceland, heart disease (and diabetes) was almost unheard of until the 1930’s, although the Icelanders ate a diet tremendously high in fat. In the early 1920’s, however, refined carbohydrates and sugar arrived in the Icelandic diet, and true to Cleave’s ‘Rule of 20 Years’, the degenerative diseases arrived on schedule.” This also happened in Yugoslavia and Poland.

In chapter 28 on page 360, he said, “I knew what this nutritional approach could do for overweight people as well as for people with blood-sugar imbalances. I had certainly witnessed permanent improvements in my patients’ health and energy levels. Their successful weight loss efforts were equally real and long term. . . when low-fat diets were hawked as the only way to go, and high-carbohydrate foods such as pasta and bagels dominated the ‘health’ landscape—the rate at which our population grew heavier and heavier accelerated. . . . If you set out to become fat, there would be no better way to achieve it than with the diet of refined carbohydrates and starches so common in the US.”

Jim and I started with the Atkins plan. It is an awesome plan because you have a whole website full of advice and recipes to help you. The first two weeks of the Atkins plan is called Induction. You can read all about it on their website, just do an internet search. We dropped our carb intake to just 20 carbs per day. It was pretty strict, but I figured I could do it for just 2 weeks. It switches over your body to stop packing on the fat, and burn it! The best part was that we were never, ever hungry. If I got hungry I could eat cheese. I discovered all kinds of different flavors of cheese in the store that I never knew existed!

The two basic thoughts you have to understand:
1) Our processed food supply (anything in a package) is full of white flour and sugar. The farther away from the original product (the cow or the plant, etc) the worse it is for you.

2) You have got to plan out your food, and prepare ahead of time. This will involve cooking! There are millions of recipes online. Start out basic, look for recipes that don’t require ingredients you can’t get in your local grocery store, or use appliances you don’t have yet. I get my almond & coconut flours at the Super Walmart. And I asked for a food processor for Christmas.

We have been ‘low carb’ for four years now! I can’t eat the Atkins bars (and shakes) because they contain Maltose, which is a diuretic. You just have to see what your body will tolerate. My husband has no problem with Maltose. I have discovered Quest bars, which contain Stevia! Stevia is my favorite sweetener because it is natural, and only has one carb per gram.

After you’ve survived Induction for two weeks, you will be able to branch out, VERY carefully. Again, check out the Atkins website for Phase 2 recipes, it’s very helpful! You need to figure out what type of food you miss the most. What is your hot button. I have a huge sweet tooth, and I love baked goods. I found a store that sells low carb bread, bagels and wraps! Lo Carb Connection ships all over the country and Canada! You can visit their website at http://www.locarbconnection.com/.

And here is my favorite cookie recipe, that gives me the chocolate taste I need without white flour or sugar!

DSCN0051

Donna’s Chocolate Chip Cookies – to get the carb count, add up all carbs (minus the fiber) and divide by how number of cookies)

1 teaspoon baking soda                                             1 cup coconut four (sifted)
1 teaspoon salt                                                           1 cup special dark chocolate chips
1 stick of butter                                                           ¾ cup Stevia
¾ cup packed Stevia brown sugar                             1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs                                                                        1 cup finely chopped peanuts
3 tablespoons vegetable oil

Chop up peanuts.  In a large mixing bowl, soften stick of butter in the microwave.  Sift together coconut flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.
In the bowl with the butter mix together Stevia, Stevia brown sugar, vanilla and vegetable oil.  Once completely mixed, add eggs.
Gradually add coconut flour mixture, bit by bit.  Mix in chopped nuts.  Once completely mixed, mix in chocolate chips.
Bake on a baking stone (if you have one) or cookie sheet.  With your hands, roll into teaspoon size balls and slightly flatten.  They will stay the same shape when baked, so you can place them close together.  Make sure they stick together, or they will fall apart when finished.
Bake at 325 F for as long as it takes for them to slightly brown.  Do not transfer until very cool!  Store in the refrigerator.
Welcome to your new life! You won’t get that disgusting, over stuffed feeling again! But you’ll be happily sated and you’ll have more energy. Don’t forget to exercise too! No less than 3 days a week, with stretching on the non-exercise days!
I welcome your comments and suggestions! Let me know how you are doing and if you have questions!
Donna

