God Doesn’t Want You to Overeat!

DSC00869

I had a sobering lesson in my Bible Study today.  ““Everything is permissible for me” – but not everything is BENEFICIAL. “Everything is permissible for me” – but I will not be mastered by anything.  “Food for the stomach and the stomach for food” – but God will destroy them both.” 1 Corinthians 6:12 & 13.  To me this says that you have your own free will to overeat or under eat, but if you truly want to do God’s will you will not let food MASTER you!

In Living Beyond Yourself – Exploring the fruit of the Spirit, Beth Moors says “It is no accident that the subject of physical appetite is immediately followed by the exhortation to let nothing master us.  Many Americans-bone thin to morbidly obese are mastered by food…

…Setting aside the physical effects…the loss of control and the addiction to overeating is deeply guilt-provoking and self-defeating…It is not God’s will for us to be mastered by anything other than Him.  He wants us to be free from obsession: from the obsession of eating and from the obsession of not eating…

…Your food-related addiction may be so overpowering that you have already surrendered to a life out of control.  Please think about it, my Friend.  The temporary comfort of food cannot begin to match the inevitable long-range guilt and self-defeat.  If you have every other area under control but you are mastered by food, which is a portion of your broken-down wall, Satan will use it to trample you.  If you often feel out of control and guilt-ridden after you eat, you need God’s help to repair the broken wall. The process may be One-on-one, or God may lead you to ‘someone with a little skin on her’ for encouragement.  Christ-centered groups can help you feel less alone in your struggle.**  Seek Him and find out.  He already has a plan for your release.” – Beth Moore in Beyond Yourself – Exploring the fruit of the Spirit.

**First Place is a Christ-Centered Health Program, available from Lifeway Christian Resources (Beth Moore).  It helps people follow a healthy lifestyle plan while utilizing biblical principles and Bible Study.  Call them at 1-800-458-2772.

Please exercise caution and be mindful of your own body. These views are mine alone, based on my own experiences. Always consult a professional for additional guidance and assistance. 

So, now I know that I have to answer to God, when I overeat!!  Sobering words indeed!   Let me know what you think of this post and my blog!  I need encouragement too!
Until next time,
Donna

