White Flour & Sugar the Cocaine of the Food World

The New Year brings Resolutions of losing weight, exercise and being healthier.  I personally have learned that what you put in your mouth GREATLY effects your weight, MORE than exercise.

There are tons of diet plans out there.  Regardless of what diet plan you use, you have to understand that white flour and sugar have addictive properties.   Don’t use this as an excuse.  The crack addict could say the same thing, but unless they give it up, they’re going to die from crack.

WebMD says, “SUGAR fuels every cell in the brain. Your brain also sees sugar as a reward, which makes you keep wanting more of it. If you often eat a lot of sugar, you’re reinforcing that reward, which can make it tough to break the habit.”

And they further say that, “Think you don’t have a sweet tooth, but crave bagels, chips, or french fries? These starchy foods are complex carbs that the body breaks down into simple sugars. Eaten without better foods, starches can make blood sugar surge and crash like sugar. White rice and WHITE FLOUR do this. Highly refined starches like white bread, pretzels, crackers, and pasta are WORST.”  You can read the whole article HERE.

candy-and-cookies  bread-and-bagels

I do Low Carb and I use protein to help balance the natural sugar in foods to keep my blood sugar under control.  Why put yourself through the ordeal of more cravings?  I also use substitutions, ’cause a girls’ gotta eat!  I love my low carb chocolate chips cookies – look for my recipe here!  And the Low Carb Connection has the best low carb bagels and bread – I go EVERY single week!  They also ship all over the country and Canada!

Whatever diet plan you are on, you need to pay attention to the white flour and sugar in your body!  Don’t torture yourself with more cravings, and set yourself up to failure!  Read labels and educate yourself – there are a lot of hidden sugars and flours in processed foods.  The closer to the original form your food is, the less processed it is.  Apple sauce has a lot of added sugar, stick with a real apple instead!!

When you do get a craving, you need to think about it.  You need to ask yourself some questions:
1) What am I craving?  Something sweet? Salty?
2) Am I really hungry or do I just want to taste something?
3) What can I do to relieve my craving without going off my diet plan?
Sweet craving – I make fruit tea with Stevia.  Salty craving – I always have nuts available.
4) Am I going to have a meal soon, but I’m hungry NOW!  A big glass of water may work, or with Low Carb a mozzarella cheese stick and some nuts will tide me over.
5) What can I do to not think about food?  Get up and move around, take your mind off your craving and get some exercise.  DO SOMETHING!

If you really want to lose weight, you need to be committed.  You need your friends and family to support you and you need to write it down.  Support and Documentation will go a long way in helping you achieve your goals.

You can also message me here, with your questions and comments!  I’ve been there, I know what it feels like!  You are stronger than you think!  YOU can do it!!!

Philippians 4:13  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Donna

